TRUSTWORTHINESS: is a moral value considered to be a virtue.

Trustworthiness is a moral value considered to be a virtue. A trustworthy person is someone in whom you can place your trust and rest assured that the trust will not be betrayed. A person can prove their trustworthiness by fulfilling an assigned responsibility – and as an extension of that, not to let down expectations. The responsibility can be either material, such as delivering a mail package on time, or it can be non-material such as keeping an important secret to themselves. A trustworthy person is someone that you can tell your worries and secrets to and know they won’t repeat them without your permission. In general, in order for trust to be earned, worth and integrity must be proven over time.

(provided by wikipedia.org)

When I read through the description of what “trustworthiness” means, I see a lot of what we have already been writing on throughout this class.  To get the root of this topic, it is trust that we are after.  Trust is something that takes time to receive and it can be very quick to loose.  Through time and through your reputation, you will start to see the change in people that come through your office.  When the questions change from “What can you do for me?” to “Would you do that for me?”

I have gone through many client situations, where they were looking for something specific and only wanted that.  I have always looked at trust, as being honest, up front, truthful, and responsible.  So with those clients that I have dealt with, I was honest to the point that I even told them when I would not be able to help them due to my lack of knowledge in the area that they were looking.  In the long run, I lost them for that one project, but I stayed close, offered my help where I could and now they are my clients for life because I was honest and trustworthy to them from the beginning.

You never know who will walk into your life, and when your reputation proceeds you as a honest, trustworthy, and up front person in real life, it will filter over into your working profession and give you an upper hand in the tasks and career positions that you take on in your future.  In this, is how you will find yourself at the head of the line…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

